United States District Court  - Southern District of Ohio
Home Site Map Contact the Court Electronic Case Filing Log-In

Arrow Attorney Information
Arrow About the Court
Arrow Cameras in the Court Room
Arrow Clerk's Office
Arrow Electronic Case Filing (CM/ECF)
Arrow Employment
Arrow Fee Schedule
Arrow Forms
Arrow General Orders
Arrow Judges
Arrow Juror Information
Arrow Links
Arrow Local Rules
Arrow Mediation
Arrow Standing Committees
Arrow Criminal Justice Act
About the Court

The United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio serves over 5 million citizens, in 48 counties of the 88 counties in Ohio. The Eastern Division sits at Columbus and the Western Division at Cincinnati and Dayton, all with fully staffed Clerk's offices, courtrooms and resident judicial officers. The seat of court at COLUMBUS serves Athens, Belmont, Coschocton, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Gallia, Guernsey, Harrison, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson, Knox, Licking, Logan, Madison, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Ross, Union, Vinton, and Washington counties.

The seat of court at CINCINNATI serves Adams, Brown, Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton, Highland, Lawrence, Scioto, and Warren counties.

The seat of court at DAYTON serves Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, and Shelby counties.

Civil and criminal cases arise from the farmlands along the Indiana border to the Appalachian coal fields of southeastern Ohio, from the commerce on the Ohio River, from State government in Columbus, from commercial dealings of large and small business, and in a myriad of other ways.

In an average year, this Court may decide 400 - 500 criminal cases, often involving multiple defendants in each case, and face 2400 - 2800 newly filed civil cases. The bench of the Southern District of Ohio includes eight full-time District Judges, six Senior District Judges and seven Magistrate Judges, all of whom carry active civil and criminal dockets.


Click on map below for larger version.

Ohio County Map