

United States District Court Southern District of Phio

By legislative Act signed by President Thomas Jefferson on February 19, 1803, the 7th Congress of the United States created a single federal district court encompassing the newly created State of Ohio in its entirety – the District of Ohio.¹ When created, the District consisted of a single judge, the Hon. Charles Willing Byrd, who presided until his death in 1828.²

By legislative Act signed by President Franklin Pierce on February 10, 1855, the 33rd Congress divided Ohio into two separate federal judicial districts: the Northern District of Ohio; and the Southern District of Ohio.³

Today, the United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio covers 48 counties within the southern half of Ohio. Federal courthouses are located in Cincinnati, Columbus, and Dayton. The Court is divided into two divisions: the Eastern Division seated in Columbus; and the Western Division seated in both Cincinnati and Dayton.

For more information regarding the history of the United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio, please visit the Federal Judicial Center's website.

-

¹ UNITED STATES STATUTES AT LARGE, 7 Cong. Ch. 7, February 19, 1803, 2 Stat. 201.

² https://www.fjc.gov/node/1378661

³ UNITED STATES STATUTES AT LARGE, 33 Cong. Ch. 73, February 10, 1855, 10 Stat. 604.